Lewallen's in Hab/Banks

Kristy Lewallen - Aug 24, 2008

Hi, I'm new to the site. Thanks for having me here. I've been all over the internet looking for my relatives. I only know a few names, and can only go back as far as my great-grandparents. I know very little about them. I hope I'm posting this is the write place.

I'm looking for any information or any relatives of Dank Lewallen. b 10/20/1900
d. 11/20/1959. His middle initial appears to be "C" He was married to Lula Mae Adell Smith. I found a few different records showing he died in Hall county or Monroe, but I believe it was Hall county. He died in a car wreck. Their children are Haskel Lewallen of Clarkesville, b 1923, still living, Adger B, Lewallen of Banks? b. 4/20/1919 d. 12/1972, spouse Monteen Newsom or Newson; Aaron Lewallen, I'm unsure of how Aaron spelled his name. b.5/3/1922 d. 10/1982, Grady Lewallen, Laurene, Fay, and a few others I think.

Dank's mother's name was Harriet but we do not know the maiden name. She was born in S.C. and moved here. Not sure if her and Dank were married before they moved here or not but I'm pretty sure Dank was born in Banks county. I know nothing about Dank's father, Harriet's husband. I've heard that he use to own old Soapstone mountain in Banks county.

Any info on Dank Lewallen or his parents or siblings, or anyone else closely related to him would be great. Photos would be even better. We have none since he walked out on his family when my grandfather, Haskell was 4 or 5 years old. Dank is buried at a church on old 441. If you're coming from Baldwin, it's on the old road 411, on the right up on a hill. There's a truck body shop right by it and if you miss the body shop, you miss the church because you can't see the church unless you look back. I can't even remember the name of the church. I'm sure it's a Baptist church though. If I can think of any more info, I'll add it.

Billie Harris - Aug 24, 2008

Kristi, thanks for the post.   I'm sure one of the individuals from Banks County will be replying.   One place you might want to check in the meantime is in the Photos Section.   There's a book which Dennis Lewallen did and it's posted in sections in the Photos.   That might help until someone replies to this.

John Corn - Aug 24, 2008

Welcome Kristi -
 Dank C LEWALLEN (1900-1959) was the first child of Walter & Harriet LEWALLEN.

Walter Brofford LEWALLEN b. 22 Feb 1880 in Banks Co, GA d. 16 Jun 1954 in Habersham Co, GA. He married Harriet FARMER Abt. 1899.   Harriet was born 02 Dec 1882 in GA and d. 16 Oct 1975 in Cornelia, Habersham Co, GA.   Both Walter & Harriet are buried in the Line Baptist Church Cemetery (up on the hill on the west side of Old Hwy 441), Banks Co, GA .   When I was there (2004) I did not see Dank's tombstone but there is a picture of Walter's tombstone in the photo section of this site.

If you go to the top of this page and click on Family Tree.   That will bring up a new page where you can click on the online Banks County family tree.   You can find the rest of your ancestors listed there.

Kristy Lewallen - Aug 26, 2008

I did see a Dan K. Lewallen and a Dank Lewallen, I am guessing the first name is a typo? and this is the same person. It really has me confused. I have found a death record of Dank, showing he died in Hall county but there is no info on his parents or brothers and sisters there. I'm hoping this is the right one and his parents are indeed Walter Brofford and Harriet Farmer Lewallen. Thanks so much for this info, it's really helped a lot. I guess I'll have to get the full death report from Hall co, vital records to see if that helps as well. Thanks a bunch!!!