Question please? (Anderson and Lucy Rice Llewellyn)

Resa Miller - Sep 6, 2008

Who are the parents of Anderson Grant Llewellyn, (married to Lucy Rice)??
 I have seen Daniel and Mary or Alexander and Elizabeth.   I am getting more confused all the time.   Is this the right place to post this??   It isn't news but I am looking for news.
Thanks,
Resa Miller

Billie Harris - Sep 6, 2008

Resa, I'm glad you asked that question because I'd like to know the answer myself.

Personally, I don't believe Alexander was the father.   At least Alexander's Will doesn't mention a son by the name of Anderson while it does seem to name his children.

I'm not so sure Anderson is the son of Daniel either, however, I do think there's probably some type of relation between the two because of the Rice connections.

[NOTE: broken link]


Resa, I'm glad you asked that question because I'd like to know the answer myself.

Personally, I don't believe Alexander was the father.   At least Alexander's Will doesn't mention a son by the name of Anderson while it does seem to name his children.

I'm not so sure Anderson is the son of Daniel either, however, I do think there's probably some type of relation between the two because of the Rice connections.

Click on this site:

[NOTE: broken link]

and then click on this one:

[NOTE: broken link]

Since Richard is mentioned as being of Norfolk County, here's a chron for that, too:


[NOTE: broken link]

I do have another question as long as we're discussing Anderson.   I haven't found Anderson's middle name on any document as "Grant" and yet I see that researchers have put that as his name.   Where did it come from?   Is there any documentation to substantiate that as his middle name or was it just a name someone assumed to be his and everyone else has "run" with it as a middle name.

I would like to hear other comments on this so we can try to find out who Anderson's parents were.

Carol Lewallen - Sep 8, 2008

Hi, I have found a birth record of Anderson Llewellen Llewellen 1764 to Daniel Llewellen Llewellen and Mary Burkes in Prince Edward Co. VA.
It was from the Family Data Collection- Births, under the Ancestry.com site. You can see there is NO middle name though.
I'm very confused too. I've been looking all year and no luck yet, but still digging.
Hope we all can find some solid links.
Carol Lewallen

Billie Harris - Sep 8, 2008

Carol, if that's correct, then we have the information we're looking for, but I'm not familiar with the Family Data Collection from Ancestry [Editor's note: I believe this refers to something another researcher posted under a subscriber's family tree on Ancestry].   Does it give a source for that information?

I hope no one takes offense for me questioning this, but in 1762/3 Daniel Llewellen and his wife Mary had a son Richard.   Daniel's Will is dated 1785 which means Richard would have been about 23 at the time.   And, more than likely Richard would have been the oldest of Daniel's sons because he was named administrator of Daniel's Will.   No other children were named so if he had others after Richard, they would have been under 23.   In 1785 Anderson, Jesse and William were all living in Prince Edward County so one would think they would have been "of age" at that time since they all had their own households.   Here's what we have:

1785 - DANIEL LEWELLIN   - Will dated 25 Feb. 1785, proved 18 july 1785.  
Wife Mary. Son Richard Lewellen.   Executor:   son, Richard Lewellin.   Witnesses:   Edmund Dayzell? Todd, Zachariah RICE, John Vaughn


Daniel is shown in the 1785 records with 4 whites, one other and one building.  

Anderson, Jesse and William lived in a different area of the county in 1785.  

But if there are sources to back the family data up, then they must have been sons of Daniel.   It seems apparent they were related though because Richard is mentioned in a couple of land transactions in Amelia County with Anderson and Jessee and Moses.


Rick makes an editorial comment here: I have been at this for over 20 years now and I have never seen a document that we can call proof, that Anderson was the son of Daniel. I find it far more likely that Jesse Lewellin was Anderson's father, although there is no "smoking gun."