Descendants of John Smith (d 1816, Prince William VA) - Jesse and Susannah Lewellyn

Billie Harris - Nov 12, 2008

http://www.virginians.com/redirect.htm?topics&446

Will of John Smith
9 May 1816
I John Smith of Prince Edward County being in perfect mind and memory but knowing the uncertainty of this mortal life do make constitute and appoint this my last will and testament revoking all others.
First my will and desire is that all my Just debts be paid by the sale of as much of the property herein after given to my son William T. Smith, as will be sufficient for that purpose.
Item I lend to my wife Susan Smith all my Estate both real and personal during her natural life and at her death my will and desire is that it be divided as follows. I give to my daughter Mary Ann Walker the following negroes Viz: Hannah, Isham, Hercules, Lucy, Scintha & Tomy with their increase to her and her heirs forever.
Item I give to my son William T. Smith (after paying my Just debts) all my stock of every kind all my household, kitchen furniture, all my plantation utinsils, all the Crop and money which may be on hand, together with all debts due me and everything belonging to me, which is not specially named in this will to him & his heirs forever.
Item I give to my daughter Elizabeth Atkinson the following Negroes Viz, Jack, Edward & Tamer with her increase to her and her heirs forever.
Item I give to my son Allen Smith all my land also the following Negroes Viz Peyton Lewis [Lucas?], Dick, Stephen, Harry and Bett [?] together with all my fowls, Bees and stills to him and his heirs forever.
Item I constitute and appoint my Sons William T. Smith and Allen Smith together with Samuel V. Allen executors to this my last will and testament hereby revoking all others. In Witness whereof I have set my hand and seal this ninth day of May Eighteen hundred and Sixteen. The names Stephen and Dick added before signed.
John Smith
Signed & acknowledged in our presence James Anderson, Samuel Venable Watkins, John W. Wilson


(See the site above for the mention of the Lewellyns)