My Greatgrandmother (Louisa Lewallen, dau of Camble C., gr dau of John of Scott Co TN)

Resa Miller - Feb 1, 2009

copy of marriage,   My Great grandfather Joseph Camble Watts and   Louisa (Lewiza) Lewallen. Louisa was the daughter of Camble C Lewallen and Millie Young.
Camble was the son of John Lewallen the first sherriff of Scott Co. Tn.   Millie Young was the daughter of Elizabeth Lewallen and Matthew Young.   Elizabeth was the daughter of Andrew Leutain Lewallen, (the brother of John, the sherriff)
Also, Joseph Camble Watts was the greatgrandson of mysterious Susannah Luelin from Bedford Co. Va.
Does anyone understand this?   How is this for a mixed up Lewallen family?? That means Anderson and Lucy Lewallen are my gggggreat grandparents and my ggggggreat grand parents.
Oh yeah, then there is my mom's Lewallens.   She's a greatgrandaughter of Hannah Todd (they never married) and   Andrew Russell Lewallen, the son of Andrew Leutain Lewallen.  

Did I say they were from Scott Co.?

[NOTE: attachment was a broken link]

Martha Lewallen - Feb 2, 2009

Isn't it amazing working on family History??? Just think, I would not know that my granddaughter was also my 3rd cousin!!!!!!

She has a great-grandfather Wilson that is her 3rd and 4th great.

And her father is related to one set of Banks County Lewallen's and grandfather to the other. Now if I could get the two sets connected it will probably work about the same.

I love it!

Billie Harris - Feb 2, 2009

These relationships remind me of an old song years ago "I'm my own grandpa."   Do any of you remember that one which was sung by Ray Stevens?

Resa, I had to take a second look at that marriage license and enlarge it because at first glance, I thought it was "Witt" instead of "Watt" and my Lewallen great grandfather married a Witt.   But alas, it was Watt.   Good document.   If you have any others, post them.

Billie Harris - Feb 6, 2009

Here are some things I found on GenForum which may or may not help you, Jim:





----------------------------------
Re: Zachariah Lewallen, TN, TX 1822-1910
Posted by: Robert Frederick Date: April 14, 2000 at 00:23:56
In Reply to: Re: Zachariah Lewallen, TN, TX 1822-1910 by Michael Elkins   of 839  


Zacheriah Lewallen was my gg grandfather who was born April 26, 1822, in Scott Co. TN. His wife, Nancy bore him 12 children. She was born Feb. 18, 1818 in Campbell Co. TN. and Died March 27, 1896. Children in order were from 1860 Census: Sarrah, Sterling, Peggy A., Mary, Roadsany, James, Harrison, Pheraba, William, John, Amos and Joel L.(bn. May 1861). Most of this family moved from Scott Co. TN to Texas. Some may have only gone as far as MS between 1860 & 1900. Harrison Lewallen, my great-grandfather was heavy into contract harvesting throughout Texas before and after 1900. He had removed to Bell Co. Texas and was there in 1900 Census with his wife, Margret(Keeney)Lewallen, and his father Zacheriah was part of the household. Five of their eight children lived to maturity. In order of their births: Laura Bell-Dec1876, James Monroe-Sep78, Albert Sidney-Dec80, Seney Ellen (my Grandmother)Feb83, Thomas Early-Jan86(died young), Claudia Ann-Dec87, Leona May-Nov91 died young and Girl Baby died at birth. This family grew up in the Bell Co. Texas area of Temple and Troy communities and finally dispersed to other Texas communities out west by 1910. Any additional answers I can provide, please email me, as I am looking for others of this line