Will of William Jackson, 1775, Martin County, N.C.

Billie Harris - Jul 13, 2008

Billy Mayo sent me the web site for his ancestor, William Jackson of Martin County, N.C.   I'm posting it because in addition to info on our Llewellyn, Lewallen, etc. ancestors, we include those of our allied families.   John Lewelling is made an executor and   William Lewelling witnessed this Will.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ncmartin/williamjacksonwil
l.htm

Last Will of WILLIAM JACKSON 1775
Contributed by David Jackson

State of North Carolina

Martin County



In the name of God, Amen.   This twenty ninth day of July, one thousand, seven hundred and seventy five, I, WILLIAM JACKSON of Martin County, in the province of North Carolina,   being weak of body and calling to mind the mortality of the same and knowing that it is   appointed for all men to die, though at present in perfect mind and memory, thanks be to   God for the same, I do make , ordain, constitute and appoint this to be my last will and   testament in manner and form following, that is to say, first and finally, I command my soul to almighty God who gave it to me, hoping to be saved through the holy merits and mediation of blessed Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, and my body I commit to the earth from whence it is taken to be buried in a christian and decent manner by my executor, hereafter named.   Not doubting, but at the general resurrection, I shall receive the same again by the might of God and as touching those worldly goods and estate, wherewith it hath pleased God to bless me with, I give and bequeath it and dispose of them in the following manner and form.

I will that ll my just debts and funeral charges be discharged in a convenient time after my passage by my executor.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my well beloved daughter, ANN STORY, five shillings, sterling money to her heirs.

Item:   I give and bequeatrh to my well beloved son, EDWARD JACKSON, one feather bed and furniture to him and his heirs.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my well beloved daughter, ELIZABETH EDWARDS, five shillings, sterling money.

Item:   I give and bequeath unto my well beloved daughter, MARYAN WATSON, five shillings, sterling money.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my well beloved daughter, PHEREBY PHILPOTT, five shillings, sterling money.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my well beloved daughter, SARAH ANN STATON, five shillings, sterling money.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my dearly beloved wife, my negro winch, VIOLET, during her life and widowhood, likewise I give one feather bed and furniture to my wife,
MARY JACKSON.

Item:   I give and bequeath to my well beloved son, BILLA WILLIAMS JACKSON, all the rest of my estate within and without all that is my property, ay my demise, to him and his heirs forever.

I make and ordain, constitute and appoint my dearly beloved wife,   MARY JACKSON, NATHAN MAYO and JOHN LEWELLING to be joint executors of this my last will and testament.   I do hereby revoke and disavow all former and other wills hereafter made of my hand   or found.   Ratifying and confirming this and no other to be my last will and testament whereof I have set my hand and seal this day and year above written, signed, sealed and delivered to be the last will and testament of WILLIAM JACKSON, in the presence of us,

Ann Brown
William Lewelling                                                         His
Henry Clark                                                   WILLIAM   (X)   JACKSON
                                                                               Mark


     A LITTLE HISTORY

This don't solve my problem as to who were the parents of my 5th great grandfather, William Jackson, who died about 1783 in Martin Co., NC.   But in trying to trace some of his associates, with the hopes of finding some clues as to where he was prior to Martin County, I came across a little bit of history that piqured my interest.

There were two witnesses to several land transactions, as well as a witness to my grandfather's will.   They must have been very close associates, worthy of investigation.   These gentlemen were Nathan Mayo and John William Llewellyn, Jr.   Their lives also clashed in an unusual way.   A brief discussion of the two is in order.

John William Llewellyn, Jr. was born 1714 in Norfolk Co., VA.   He later settled in Martin Co., NC.   Llewellyn was a cousin of Lord Charles Cornwallis who led the British forces in America during the Revolutionary War.   He, Llewellen, was a member of the Anglican Church and consequently a rabid supporter of the King of England to the extent that he formed a group of associates, of his persuasion. He was opposed to statements written into the State Constitution and was fearful of the changes that would weaken the Anglican Church.   He wrote his own beliefs and formulated oaths to swear in support
of the King of England.   John Llewellen quartered the British forces and opened his   house to the British officers when they captured the town of Halifax.   He also gave supplies to the British troups when they were in Halifax County and for this he was tried for "high treason against the colonists".   In 1777, he was tried, found guilty and sentenced to be hanged.

Nathan Mayo was born 1742 in the Isle of Wight County, Virginia.   He first relocated to Beauford County, NC, later to Pitt County, NC and lastly to Martin County, NC.   In 1776 he converted from the Anglican Church to the Baptist Church.   He was very active in his church and served as Moderator in the Kehukee Baptist Association.   He was a Justice and Judge of Martin County, NC from 1776 to 1777 and as Justice he was the enemy of John William Llewellyn, Jr. and was on Llewellyn's list to be killed along with leading
citizens of the county.   Not all of Llewellyn's group agreed with the plan and gave depositions revealing his intentions, including a deposition given by Nathan Mayo, acting as Justice.   As a result, Nathan Mayo and his brother, James Mayo, who was also on Llewellyn's list, were not killed.

While John Llewellyn was being held in the Edenton   jail awaiting execution, Llewellyn's wife, Mary Ball Llewellyn, and one of her husband's "planned victims", Nathan Mayo, were successful in securing a pardon for him from Governor Richard Caswell.   John William Llewellyn lived to be a very old man. It is assumed he converted from the Anglican Church.   He died in Martin County, NC in 1794.

John William Llewellyn wittnesed my grandfather's will in 1775 and at least one deed in 1784, just prior to and after his notority.   Nathan Mayo witnessed several deeds, prior to and after the incident.   Sons of Nathan Mayo   were also witnesses to my Jackson family deeds In Martin County.

Billie Harris - Jul 13, 2008

I'm going to add a thought here.

It was rare that a person had two given names prior to the Revolutionary War so if I were researching John Llewellyn/Lewelling, I wouldn't be looking for both names and only be looking for John who was born ca 1714, especially since John Lewelling's Will didn't give two names and only gave one.