Last Will and Testament of Asa Lewellen, Monongalia WV, 1866

Billie Harris - Nov 30, 2011

Found on a GenForum posting.

--------

Will of Asa Lewellen, Monongalia Co, WV
Posted by: Pat O'Dell (ID *****2452) Date: October 14, 2008 at 09:54:24
 of 324  


Will Book 2, page 118 [1866]

Know all men by these presents that I, Asa Lewellen, of Union Township in the County of Monongalia State of West Virginia being in ill health but of sound and desposing mind memory do make and publish this my last will & testament hereby revoking all former wills by me at any time heretofore made.

And as to my worldly estate & all the property real personal & mixed of which I shall die seized or possessed or to which I shall be entitled at the time of my decease I devise bequeath dispose herof in the manner following to wit:

First, my will is that all my just debts & funeral expenses shall by my executors hereafter named to pay out of my estate as soon after my deceased as shall by them be found conenient

Item, I give devise and bequeath to my beloved wife Katharine Lewellen in lieu of her dower a full and sufficient support out of my estate during her natural life

I give & bequeath to my daughter Hannah Lewellen to my son John S. Lewellen to my daughter Mary L. Lewellen to my daughter Susannah R. Lewellen to my daughter Lydia S. Lewellen each the sum of one hundred dollars.

All the rest & residue of my estate real personal & mixed of which I shall die seized & possessed or to which I shall be entitled at my decese I give devise & bequeath to be equally divided among my ten children Viz: Ruth Cooly, Elizabeth Sargent, Jesse Lewellen, Catherine Lewellen, Ann Lewellen, Hannah Lewellen, John S. Lewellen, Isabel Lewellen, Susannah R. Lewellen & Lydia S. Lewellen

And lastly I do nominate & appoing my son Jesse Lewellen & my son in law Hananiah Hunter to be executors of this my last will & testament

In testimony whereof I the said Asa Lewellen have to this my last will & testament contained in one sheet of paper subscribed my name and affixed my seal this sixth day of May one thousand eight hundred and sixty-six

Asa Lewellen

Signed sealed and declared by the said Asa Lewellen as for his last will & testament in the presence of us who at his request & in his presence & in the presence of each other have subscribed our names witnesses thereto:
Wm J. John
Shelby P. Weltner

------------------------------------------------------

In the office of the Recorder of Monongalia County on Monday the seventh day of June A.D. 1866

The last will and testament of Asa Lewellen des'd was this day produced to the Recorder, duly proven by the oaths and examination of William W. John and Shelby P. Weltner subscribing witnesses thereto and ordered to be admitted to record.

On motion of Jesse Lewellen and Hannaniah Hunter the executors named in the will a certificate is granted them to obtain utters testimentary upon the last will and testament of Asa Lewellen dec'd. Whereupon the said Jesse Lewellen and Hannaniah Hunter took the oaths prescribed by law and entered into bond in the penalty of Twelve Hundred Dollars conditioned as the law directs, with Shelby P. Weltner and Elihu H. Ridgway who justified on oath as to their sufficiency sureties thereon.
A.L. Wade Recorder