Zadock Lewellen

Billie Harris - Nov 30, 2011

Another posting from GenForum.   Looks like I should have checked there more often because there's some good info, especially by Pat O'Dell.
---------------

the Zadock Lewellen's
Posted by: Pat O'Dell (ID *****2452) Date: October 13, 2008 at 15:04:15
 of 324  


There are several Zadock Lewellens and the most consistent thing is that their names are misspelled.

Zadock son of Francis Lewellen by census:
1820 Guernsey Co, Richland Twp, Ohio
1830 Guernsey Co, Richland Twp, Ohio
1840 Morgan Co, Jackson twp, Ohio
1850 Ray Co, Mo
1856 Taylor Co, Benton Twp, Iowa
1860 Taylor Co, Benton twp, Iowa
1870 Taylor Co, Dallas Twp, Iowa

Zadock son of Philip Lewellen? by census:
1820 Washington Co, Morris Twp, Pa - 1 1 - - 1 - 3 1 2 - 1
1830 same although can't find
1840 Washington Co, Morris Twp, Pa --2-1---1 ----11--
1850 Washington Co, Morris Twp, Pa
Zaddock Lewellen 72 Pa
Andrew J. Wright 34 Delaware
Emeline Wright 24 Pa
James B. Wright 4 Pa
Morgan Wright 2 Pa
Andrew J. Hagerty 21 Pa


Zadock Lewellen of Monongalia Co, Va
1830 Monongalia Co, Va 21--1 -1--1
1840 Marshall Co, Va -121-1 2--1-1
1850 Marshall Co, Va
Zedadok Llewallen 45 Va
Sarah Llewallen 42 Pa
Doctor Llewallen 24 Va
Asa Llewallen 22 Va [living with a neighbor]
William Llewallen 20 Va
Mary Llewallen 18 Va
Elizabeth Llewallen 16 Va


Zadock Lewellen was born ca1785 in Penn according to the census records. He married Sarah Sickles, 23 Apr 1812 in Guernsey Co, Oh. His death was in the TAYLOR COUNTY DEMOCRAT, Sep 12, 1878, newspaper of Bedford, Iowa - Zadock Llewellyn of Mason township was buried last Monday. He had been almost entirely helpless for years.

Sarah Sickles Lewellen died May 8, 1855 near Hawleyville [this could be either Page County or Taylor County and be near Hawleyville] according to the pension papers Zadock submitted on his son Zadock's Civil War service record.

Children:
1. Isaiah Lewellen born 1812 Guernsey Co, Oh and died 1893 near New Market, Iowa. Buried Memory Cemetery, East River Township, Page Co, Iowa. Graves was marked with a tombstone which he shares with his son who died in 1949. See Isaiah's family on another entry.

2. Henry Lewellen born 1819 Ohio. Married 05 Dec 1841 Morgan Co, Ohio to Maria[h] Groves. Died 10 May 1853 Ray Co, Mo.

3. Nancy Lewellen born 07 Nov 1820 Guernsey Co, Oh. Married 12 Apr 1846 Ray Co, Mo to Eli Joshua Miles. Died 20 Jan 1898 Junction City, Geary Co, Ks and buried Govt Hill Cem, Riley Co, Ogden, Ks.

4. Lucinda Lewellen born born in Ohio. Married Henry Goodin [Goodwin] 28 Mar 1841 Morgan Co, Ohio. Her daughter Rebecca Goodwin age 8 was on the 1850 census with Zadock and Sarah Lewellen indicting that Lucinda had died previous to this time.

5. Robert Lewellen. Born Ohio. Zadock's will written 22 Oct 1874 states that his son Robert Lewellen was deceased and that he left two sons, Robert Lewellen and James Lewellen.

6. Hannah Lewellen. Born 01 Nov 1827 Guernsey Co, Oh. Married 27 Jul 1843 Washington Co, Oh to Jonathan Adams. Died 21 Jan 1865 Taylor Co, Iowa and buried in the Ladoga Cem, Washington Township, Taylor Co, Iowa.

7. James Lewellen. Born ca1830 Ohio. Married 05 Mar 1853 Page Co, Ia to Mary Ann Rose. Died 22 Mar 1862 Rolla, Phelps Co, Mo of pneumonia in Sears Rangers company, Civil War.

8. John Lewellen. Born ca1831 Ohio. Married 23 May 1855 in Taylor Co, Ia to Selena Gambell. Died Wilson Co, Ks early 1870's.

9. Zadock Lewellen. Born ca1834 Ohio. Died 28 Feb 1863 St Louis, Mo in Co K 25 Regiment of Mo Vol Inf in Civil War.

10. Sarah Lewellen. Born ca1835 Ohio. Married 01 Nov 1855 Taylor Co, Iowa to William Gladden who died in 1916. Married Jacob Sweetwood. Died Nov 1922 Fremont Co, Iowa and buried in the Tabor Cem, Mills Co, Ia.


Will of Zadock Lewellen. Taylor County, Iowa
In the name of God, Amen. I, Zadock Lewellen of the county of Taylor and state of Iowa, being in good health of body and of sound and disposing mind and memory and being deservous of settling my worldly affairs while I have strength and capacity so to do, do make and publish this my last will and testement, that is to say:

First. I desire that all my debts shall be paid and the expenses of my last sickness and such other expenses as may be incident to keeping me up to the time of my decease.

Secondly, I give and bequeath to my beloved son Isiah Lewellen the sum of one dollar,

and to my beloved daughter Sarah Gladden the sum of one dollar,

and to my beloved daughter Nancy Miles whom I have not heard from for many years if she be alive the sum of one dollar,

and to my grandaughter Rebecca daughter of my daughter Lucinda Gooden I give and bequeath one dollar,

and to my grandson John Lewellen son of James Lewellen des'd I will and bequeath one dollar,

and to my granddaughter Jane daughter of my son James Lewellen des'd I give and bequeath one dollar,

and to my grandson William Lewellen son of my son James des'd I give and bequeath the sum of one dollar and hope that he may entirely regain his eye sight,

and to my grandsons Robert and James Lewellen sons of my son Robert who has departed this life, I give and bequeath one dollar each,

and to my grandson Henry son of John Lewellen who was my son I give and bequeath one dollar and to his brothers and sister who are children of my son John Lewellen des'd I give and bequeath each one dollar.

But my grandchildren Mary Sowells, Eliza J. Alkire, Sureptd Pace, and Charles, Levi, Barton, Thompson, Elizabeth and Allatha Adams, I cannot give anything but hope them success in life.

and to my grandson Robert Lewellen and his sister Hannah I cannot give anything as they are each able to take care of themselves.

and my great granddaughter the daughter of my grandson William Lewellen who has recently died in Kansas, I cannot feel that it is necessary for me to give anything to,

And lastly, all the rest-residue and remainder of my personal estate and property, I give and bequeath to my esteemd friend, Nancy Miller, who has taken care of me, and treated me well when I was sick, and who took as good care of me when I had no money to pay her with as when I had money. But should she die in my life time then I give and all the rest, residue and remainer of my personal property and personal estate to Benjamin Shannon who is and has been very kind to me and helped take care of me, and whom I esteem as a kind friend and should he die in my life time then I give and bequeath to me esteemed friend John Ross son of William Ross des'd and to his heirs all of said rest, residue and remainder of my personal estate and property and I hereby appoint Benj Shannon sole executor of this last will and testament hereby revoking all former will by me made.

Written 22 day of October 1874.

his mark X Zadock Lewellen