Zadock Lewallen , B 1785 PA, D. IA 1878, OH, KS

Billie Harris - Jun 17, 2012

I'm not sure where this information came from, whether from one of the members here on the site, or from the internet (GenForum) so whoever provided the information, my apologies for not acknowledging your work.   In addition, I've discovered more which has been added.

Note:   He had two sons that died in the Civil War.



ZADOCK LEWELLEN was born ca 1785, Pennsylvania

Zadock was in the War of 1812.   It shows him born 1787 from Washington County, PA.   He enlisted in the War of 1812 on April 23.   He was in the company commanded by Capt. Lowery and was honorably discharged at Zanesville Ohio Sept. 9 because of being lame.  

Of interest and a possible connection.   Henry Llewellyn was also from Washington County, Pennsylvania and enlisted in the War of 1812.   He was in Capt. Beymer's Company.  

Also note:   Francis Lewellen and his wife Lucinda from Washington County, Pennsylvania, moved to Guernsey County, OH about the same time as Zadock.

It appears Zadock married the day he enlisted in service.

Married Sarah Sickles April 23, 1812 Guernsey Co, Ohio.   His obituary was in the Taylor County Democrat Sept. 12, 1878, Bedford, Iowa.   "Zadock Llewellyn of Mason township was buried last Monday.   He had been almost entirely helpless for years."

Sarah Sickles Lewellen died May 8, 1855 near Hawleyville according to the pension papers Zadock submitted on his son Zadock's Civil War service record.

Children:

1.   ISIAH LEWELLEN
Born 1812 Guernsey County, OH and died 1893 near New Market, iowa.   Buried Memory Cemetery, East River Township, Page Co., Iowa.   Grave was marked with a tombstone which he shares with his son who died 1949.  

2.   HENRY LEWELLEN
Born 1819 Ohio.   Married Dec. 5, 1841 Morgan County, Ohio to Mariah Groves.   Died May 10, 1853 Ray Co., MO

3.   NANCY LEWELLEN
Born Nov. 7, 1820 Guernsey County, Ohio.   Married April 12, 1846 Ray Co., MO to Eli Joshua Miles.   Died Jan. 20, 1898 Junction City, Geary Co., KS and buried Govt. Hill Cem., Riley County, Ogden, KS

4.   LUCINDA LEWELLEN born in Ohio.   Married Henry Good (Goodwin) 28 Mar 1841 Morgan County, Ohio.   Her daughter, Rebecca Goodwin, age 8, was on the 1850 census with Zadock and Sarah Lewellen indicating that Lucinda had died previous to this time.
Daughter:
   (1)   REBECCA GOODWIN

5.   ROBERT LEWELLEN
Born Ohio.   Zadock's Will states that his son Robert Lewellen was deceased and that he left two sons:
   (1)   ROBERT LEWELLEN
   (2)   JAMES LEWELLEN

6.   HANNAH LEWELLEN
Born Nov. 1, 1827 Guernsey Co., OH.   Married July 27, 1843 Washington County, OH to Jonathan Adams. Died 21 Jan. 1865 Taylor County, IA and buried in the Ladoga Cemetery, Washington Township, Taylor County, IA

7.   JAMES LEWELLEN
Born ca 1830 Ohio.   Married May 5, 1853 Page County, IA to Mary Ann Rose.   Died Mar. 22, 1862, Rolla, Phelps County, MO. of pneumonia in Sears Rangers Company, Civil War.
Children:
   (1)   JOHN LEWELLEN
   (2)   JANE LEWELLEN
   (3)   WILLIAM LEWELLEN

8.   JOHN LEWELLEN
Born ca 1831 Ohio.   Married May 23, 1855 Taylor County, IA to Selena Gambell.   Died Wilson Co. KS early 1870s.   Children:
   (1)   HENRY LEWELLEN
   Other sons and a daughter

9.   ZADOCK LEWELLEN
Born ca 1834 Ohio.   Died Feb. 28, 1863 St. Louis MO in Co. K 25 Regiment of Mo. Vol. Inf. in Civil War

10.   SARAH LEWELLEN
Born ca 1835 Ohio.   Married Nov. 1, 1855 Taylor Co, Iowa to William Gladden who died in 1916.   Married Jacob Sweetwood.   Died Nov. 1922 Fremont Co. Iowa and buried in the Tabor Cemetery, Mills Co. Iowa.


NOTE:   Others of his grandchildren and great grandchildren are named in his Will which follows:


Will of Zadock Lewellen, Taylor County, Iowa

In the name of God, Amend.   I Zadock Lewellen of the county of Taylor and state of Iowa, being in good health of body and sound and disposing mind and memory and being deservous of settling my worldly affairs while I have strength and capacity so to do, do make and publish this my last will and testament, that is to say:

First, I desire that all my debts shall be paid and the expensies of my last sickness and such other expenses as may be incident to keeping me up to the time of my decease.

Secondly, I give and bequeath to my beloved son isiah Lewellen the sum of one dollar,

and to my beloved daughter Sarah Gladden the sum of one dollar,

and to my beloved daughter Nancy Miles whom I have not heard from for many years if she be alive the sum of one dollar,

and to my granddaughter Rebecca, daughter of my daughter Lucinda Gooden I give and bequeat one dollar,

and to my grandson John Lewellen, son of James Lewellen, des'd I will and bequeath one dollar,

and to my granddaughter Jane daughter of my son James des' I give and bequeath one dollar

and to my grandson William Lewellen son of my son James desd I give and bequeath the sum of one dollar and hope that he may entirely regain his eye sight,

and to my grandsons Robert and James Lewellen sons of my son Robert who has departed this life, I give and bequeath one dollar each,

and to my grandson Henry son of John Lewellen who was my son I give and bequeath one dollar and to his brothers and sister who are children of my son John Lewellen, des'd, I give and bequeath each one dollar.  

But my grandchildren Mary Sowells, Eliza J. Alkire, Sureptd Pace, and Charles, Levi, Barton, Thompson, Elizabeth and Allatha Adams, I cannot give anything but hope them success in life.  

And to my grandson Robert Lewellen and his sister Hannah I cannot give anything as they are each able to take care of themselves.  

And my great granddaughter the daughter of my grandson William Lewellen who has recently died in Kansas, I cannot feel that it is necessary for me to give anything to.

And lastly, all the rest, residue and remainder of my personal estate and property, I give and bequeath to my esteemed friend, Nancy Miller, who has taken care of me, and treated me well when I was sick, and who took as good care of me when I had no meony to pay her with as when I had money.   But should she die in my life time then I give all the rest, residue and remainder of my personal property and personal estate to Benjamin Shannon who is and has been very kind to me and helped take care of me, and whom I esteem as a kind friend and should he die in my life time then i give and bequeath to my esteemed friend John Ross son of William Ross des'd and to his heirs all of the said rest, residue and remainder of my personal estate and property and I hereby appoint Benj. Shannon sole executor of this Will and testament hereby revoking all former wills by me made.

Written 22 day of october 1874

his mark X   Zadock Lewellen


-------