Descendants of Joseph Lewallen b. 1763(author unknown)

Bill Crawford - Jul 23, 2008

This file was sent to me some time back by a friend of mine. She said she had forgotten from who she got it. She's not even related to the Lewallens but has quite a bit of knowledge of their history. She said she hasn't checked for correctness and I've only checked portions of it. It appears to be some great work.

[NOTE: broken link]

Billie Harris - Jul 24, 2008

Bill, many thanks for posting that.   It's   quite lengthy and full of good documentation and info.   Let us know if you find any errors in it.   Does it give you any clues on where to look for Joseph's parents?

Bill Crawford - Jul 24, 2008

It's so lengthy that in the 2 months I've had it, I've only checked some areas of it. It does give me a hunch that my John L. somehow is descended from this family. Some of names are ones I've seen living very near my family. Unfortunately most of Johns do not have middle nemes/initials on censuses and we don't have any dates for him. When I can get time to spend long hours at the Marietta, Ga. library, I'm going to look in cemetery books for burial of John. They have 'The Georgia Room' that's larger than most branch libraries.They have most county cemetery books for Ga. and many for most states in eastern US.

Bill Crawford - Jul 24, 2008

Billie, after thinking about your question about Joseph's parents, I remembered seeing a post by Dennis Lewallen on the forum. I can trust most anything he said because he has documents for everything. Here's his post. Birth date of Mary maybe death date.

Worthy was one of the sons of Joseph (1763-ca.1855.) I am descended from another of Joseph's sons. Joseph brought his family from Pendleton,South Carolina about 1803 to Franklin county,GA, which later contributed to Banks County. Worthy was a name which carried into 2-3 generations. Joseph was the son of William (1724-1799)and Mary Dawson (born ca. 1799) Joseph and William's generations were devout Quakers, living in a Quaker community in what is now Randolph County, NC. It is believed that William's father was one of three brothers who emigrated from Wales in the early 1700's, Shadrach, Meshach and Abedngeo Llewellyn. Hope this is a clue for you.

Dennis Lewallen
Atlanta, GA

Billie Harris - Jul 24, 2008

Bill, there's a wealth of information on the Randolph County, N.C. Lewellings.   They were Quakers for the most part and horticulturists, too.   Look at this and see if any of it would fit with your family.

[NOTE: broken link]

I'll look at the site you posted later today and jot notes, and I do appreciate your posting it.

Bill Crawford - Aug 29, 2008

Billie, this file has some serious incorrect info...especially on Joseph and the early familes in this file. As I have time I'm attempting to make necessary corrections. I thought it has too nice a format and too many obits etc. to just do away with it.

Billie Harris - Aug 30, 2008

Bill, please let us know what the corrections are.   I'll be anxious to see them  

Incidentally, today I received notice from FamilyTreeDNA that the DNA test done by one of the descendants of William Lewelling of Randolph County, N.C. had been received.   It will be about 8 weeks before the results of that one is back though.

Bill Crawford - Aug 30, 2008

I've done quite a bit of correcting on John Jackson's family. Joseph's familily at beginning of the file is where the real serious mistakes are. I'm probably going to ask Dennis for some help on Joseph's family.

Billie Harris - Aug 30, 2008

Bill, what does the 1840 census show for Joseph?   Does it show him to be married or anyone living in the household with him?   I presume Elizabeth was a wife in the 1850 census.   If so, he was still going strong in his twilight years, wasn't he?

Is Elizabeth and any of the 1850 children listed showing in the 1860 census?