Jesse David Lewallen of Franklin Co.,wife Monnie

Debbie Garrett - Aug 7, 2008

I was just looking through the obits. that Bill Crawford posted and I came across a question ...... Jesse David Lewallen's 2nd wife Monnie Hooper Lewallen. Does any one have any more information on her ? Was she married before Jesse Lewallen ? Does any one have a photo of her ? Any help would be helpful. I am working on a new lead.

MR. LEWALLEN
Retired carpenter
COMMERCE - Jesse David Lewallen, 84, died Sunday, October 17, 1999, at Crystle Springs Nursing Home.
A native of Franklin County, Mr. Lewallen was born March 14, 1915. He was a son of the late William Russell and Lula Segars Lewallen.
Mr. Lewallen was a retired carpenter and was a member of Mount Olive Baptist Church. He was preceded in death by his first wife, Mary Evans Lewallen.
Funeral services were held Tuesday, October 19, at Mount Olive Baptist Church with the Revs. Brad Wilson, Vaughn Howington Jr. and Henry Webb officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery. Keith Seagraves, Wesley Jordan, Kenny Lee, William Lewallen, Chuck Bray, Master Mitchell Lee, John Thomas Stevens and Lester Stevens served as pallbearers. Members of the staff of Crystle Springs Nursing Home served as honorary pallbearers.
Survivors include his wife, Monnie Hooper Lewallen; two step-daughters, Martha Jordan, Athens, and Hilda Massey, Commerce; three brothers, J.T. Lewallen, Clarkesville, Major Lewallen, Commerce, and William Russell Lewallen, Homer; two sisters, Mary Howington, Monroe, and Izora Stevens, Commerce; eight grandchildren, 10 great-grandchildren and nieces and nephews.
Little-Ward Funeral Home, Commerce, was in charge of arrangements.
The Banks County News, October 20, 1999

Martha Lewallen - Aug 7, 2008

Monnie Jordan Lewallen 77, of Commerce, died Sunday, June 23, 2002
at Crystal Springs Nursing Home.
Mrs. Lewallen was born February 17, 1925, in Madison County, a
daughter of the late James and Mary Cheek Jordan.
She was a homemaker and was a member of Madison Street Baptist
Church. Mrs. Lewallen was preceded in death by her first husband,
J.H. Hooper, and her second husband, Jessie David Lewallen.
Funeral services were held at 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 25, in the chapel
of Little-Ward Funeral Home, Commerce, with the Rev. Vaughn
Howington officiating. Burial was in Jackson Memorial Gardens, Commerce.
Survivors include two daughters, Martha Jordan, Athens, and Hilda
Massey, Commerce; two brothers, Allan Hordan, Ila, and Heyward
Jordan, Winter Park, Fla.; one sister, Berma Sue Smith, Danielsville;
four grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.

Debbie Garrett - Aug 8, 2008

Thanks, I seen this one too. It just doesn't help me since I know nothing about the Monnie Hooper I am looking for.

Here's the story :

     My Dad, Burnard Jackson Jones was married to a women between 1962 - Oct. 1970 named Monnie Ray Hooper according to the divorce papers from Clarke County, Georgia that I have. I have not located a marriage record for them yet. Any way, back to the divorce decree it says they had no children together and she resumed her maiden name Monnie Ray Hooper. I have no photo of her, no birthdate etc. for her only her name and date of divorce from my Dad has October 27, 1970.   My Dad was born in 1922 so Monnie Jordan Lewallen born in 1925 Madison County, Georgia seems possible. Has my Dad lived most of his life in Madison County, Georgia and has family there from way back. I've asked his sisters about Monnie and they don't remember much but to say she was a hoot to be around. Very funny and upbeat personality.
Oh yeah, back to my theory now. I know that Monnie had children by J.H. Hooper before Jesse Lewallen. I was thinking   " maybe " my Dad was her second husband. They had no children together and her 1st husband was deceased and she had children by him. So, could it be that she resummed her old married name of Hooper to have the same last name has her children again. Most people don't claim old marriages especially if no children were in volved. Also, alot of mother's will take back on their previous married name if allowed so they will have the same last name as their children. ....... Any ideas ?

Debbie Garrett - Aug 8, 2008

I just found the below on Ancestry.com and her middle inital is R !   I am beginning to think this has to be the right Monnie. My Dad's 2nd wife's middle name was RAY.   I am trying to find Monnie in the 1930 census now and see if she lived any where near my Dad then. My Dad was 7 years old in the 1930 Danielsville, Madison County, Georgia census records.

Monnie R. Lewallen
SSN: 245-22-0426  
Last Residence: 30529   Commerce, Jackson, Georgia, United States of America
Born: 17 Feb 1925
Died: 24 Jun 2002
State (Year) SSN issued: North Carolina (Before 1951 )